Running to Raise Money for Research

On January 1st when I sat in my office waiting to run the Frosty 5k in Guilford my running goal for the year was not clearly defined. One of the first pieces of mail I received in 2008 was from The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society inviting me to learn more about their Team in Training. After less than an hour at the informational session my direction was decided.Dan Cummings Running Realtor

The decision was to run against the crowd in my milestone birth year, shortly after turning 50 when most men are slowing down I will be running 26.2 miles with TNT in San Diego’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon.

In addition to building my strength to compete in a marathon which Lance Armstrong described as “without a doubt the hardest physical thing I have ever done.” I have committed to raising money for the Leukemia Society.

My goal is to raise $5000. Every donation regardless of size puts me a little closer to achieving success and encourages me to continue running the many many miles of training required to reach the finish line. CONTRIBUTIONS of any amount are being accepted now!

bttn_donate_over1.gifPlease make a donation to support my participation in Team In Training and help advance the Society’s mission to find a cure. Unfortunately, the reality is that every 5 minutes someone is diagnosed and every 10 minutes one person dies from a blood cancer but with generous support research is close enough that many of these diseases may be treatable within 10 years.

Contact Dan Cummings – The Running Realtor via email to Dan@CummingsTeam.com if you would prefer to send a check for your tax deductible contribution to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

2 Responses to “Running to Raise Money for Research”


  1. 1 Rick Larsen January 25, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Hello Dan,

    I was sitting here in my office contemplating if I should go to the Team in Training information meeting tommorrow in San Francsico.

    I like you turned 50 in 2007 and I have been running only for about 3 years as I was a smoker for 30 years and made a huge change in my life. I feel like you do I am 50 and going to run the San Diego RR Marathon and I am proud to do it.

    I was a bit intimadated by the fund raising but have now decided its all worth it. Your blog hit home. Hope we meet at the race

    Rick

  2. 2 Dan Cummings January 25, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Rick,

    Fund raising is also my biggest concern. Although they reassured us all we need to do is ask and people will happily support the cause I am still a little nervous about my ability to raise this much money in the next few months.

    Dan


Leave a Reply

RunningRealtor

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


